New York-Northeast Chapter November Meeting

Seismic Design including Soil-Structure Interaction Effects

Case Study: Metro Line Station and Twin Tunnels in Soft Ground

  • Presenter: Dr. Christos Vrettos
  • Date: November 14, 2012
  • Time: 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm
  • Location: AECOM's Downtown New York Office, 20 Exchange Place, Conference Room 15H
  • RSVP: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The case study presents seismic aspects of the design of metro‐line stations and twin tunnels in a region of moderate seismicity, comparable to New York City. State of the practice methods and models for addressing Soil‐Structure Interaction (SSI) effects are presented with particular aspects of SSI that impact the structural design of the stations’ walls and slabs, and the inter‐station tunnels’ linings. Two methods are discussed, and sectional forces are compared to the conventional static design: a time‐domain dynamic finite‐element analysis and a quasi‐static simplified displacement method.


Dr. Christos Vrettos is Professor of Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering at the Technical University of Kaiserslautern in Germany. He holds Dipl.‐Ing. and Dr.‐Ing. degree from University of Karlsruhe, and habilitation from Technical University of Berlin. He spent several years in the construction industry and geotechnical consulting. His expertise covers soil and railroad track dynamics, geotechnical earthquake engineering, numerical methods in geomechanics, deep foundations, earth dams, and terramechanics. Notable projects include top‐down deep excavations and high rise building foundations, seismic stability of tailing dams, immersed tunnels, and ground improvement. He is convenor of Eurocode 7 group on calculation models, member of several DIN committees and of the TC203 of ISSMGE. He is author of numerous publications, and reviewer for major journals (uni‐

View the Event Flyer

New York-Northeast EERI Chapter

President: Sissy Nikolaou Treasurer/Secretary: Jesse Richins

Board of Directors: Frank Clemente, Ramon Gilsanz, Jagtar Khinda, Aspa Zerva