EERI Interns Working on Concrete Coalition, Public Policy

This summer, the EERI office is livelier than ever with the presence of seven interns. From a strong pool of candidates, four talented students were selected as interns for Phase II of EERI’s Concrete Coalition Project. Sarah Bettinger, Edwin Lim, Quinn Peck, and Miguel Robles are scouring literature and reconnaissance photographs, with the guidance of practicing engineers, to assemble a database of concrete structures that collapsed or sustained significant damage in previous earthquakes in order to highlight the critical deficiencies in their design and construction. EERI’s current interns, Maggie Ortiz and Jonathon Tai, are serving as project coordinators for the Phase II work.

Sarah has undergraduate degrees in physics and civil engineering and is currently finishing her M.S. in structural engineering at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Edwin was born and raised in West Borneo, Indonesia, and is currently pursuing a master’s degree at the Georgia Institute of Technology under a Fulbright Scholarship. Quinn received a B.S. in civil engineering from Santa Clara University this past June and will return in the fall to complete his M.S. degree with an emphasis in structural engineering. Miguel graduated with a B.S. in civil engineering from PUCMM (Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra, Dominican Republic) and received a Fulbright Scholarship in 2011 to pursue an M.S. at Virginia Tech with a structures concentration.

In addition to the Concrete Coalition interns, Sahar Derakhshan will be EERI’s second Public Policy intern. Sahar is a master’s student in UC Berkeley’s Goldman School of Public Policy and is working under the supervision of Arrietta Chakos, chair of EERI’s Public Policy & Advocacy Committee. She is working on clarifying EERI’s public policy priorities, media strategy, and the advocacy portion of the website.

Working on these projects advances EERI’s mission and offers the interns insight into their respective fields and the opportunity to network with many EERI professional members. [showtime] Maggie Ortiz, Quinn Peck, Sahar Derakhshan, Jonathon Tai, Sarah Bettinger, Edwin Lim, and Miguel Robles.